A misty fusion: Ukulele forms vol.2
Stephen Godsall

purchase on BANDCAMP
releases October 5, 2022


1) Kingdom of the horse
2) The twilight of the home organ        
3) Electrified (feat. Jimi Hendrix)        
4) A misty fusion        
5) Forest Fugue

All tracks composed by Stephen Godsall   

"My second EP exploring different approaches to improvised ukulele music has two acoustic tracks, two electric tracks and a crazy combination of acoustic ukulele and home organ."
Stephen Godsall

The Tracks :

"Kingdom of the horse" has a Celtic flavour and is a trio between acoustic ukulele, banjo and nylon strung guitar, as is "Forest Fugue".

For "Twilight of the home organ" I imagined a duet of home organ and ukulele, producing a more intimate take on the Hammond/guitar combo of Jimmy Smith and Kenny Burrell. It's a duel between faulty electronics and an acoustic ukulele showing its versatility.

"Electrified" celebrates the fact that Jimi Hendrix first learned to play on a one string ukulele and imagines what might have happened if he'd electrified it; his speaking voice (from broadcast interviews) gives it a talking blues feel. I began with a free improvisation on electric ukulele, then added bass, drums and finally voice samples.

"Misty fusion" is inspired by Herbie Hancock and Miles Davis, a slice of fusion in 7/4 time; everything is played on ukulele except for the drums. The ukulele works with a guitar synth module to cover electric piano, trumpet, synth bass and organ voices.

Credits :

Stephen Godsall - all compositions, ukuleles, banjo, nylon strung guitar, bass, drums, electronic organs.
Andrew Godsall
- drums on track 3
Jimi Hendrix
- voice on track 3

In case you LIKE us, please click here:

Foto © Leentje Arnouts
cycle d’interviews réalisées
par Georges Tonla Briquet

our partners:

Clemens Communications


Silvère Mansis
(10.9.1944 - 22.4.2018)
foto © Dirck Brysse

Rik Bevernage
(19.4.1954 - 6.3.2018)
foto © Stefe Jiroflée

Philippe Schoonbrood
foto © Dominique Houcmant

Claude Loxhay
(18/02/1947 – 02/11/2023)
foto © Marie Gilon

Special thanks to our photographers:

Petra Beckers
Ron Beenen
Annie Boedt
Klaas Boelen
Henning Bolte

Serge Braem
Cedric Craps
Christian Deblanc
Philippe De Cleen
Paul De Cloedt
Cindy De Kuyper

Koen Deleu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Anne Fishburn
Federico Garcia
Robert Hansenne
Serge Heimlich
Dominique Houcmant
Stefe Jiroflée
Herman Klaassen
Philippe Klein

Jos L. Knaepen
Tom Leentjes
Hugo Lefèvre

Jacky Lepage
Olivier Lestoquoit
Eric Malfait
Simas Martinonis
Nina Contini Melis
Anne Panther
Jean-Jacques Pussiau
Arnold Reyngoudt
Jean Schoubs
Willy Schuyten

Frank Tafuri
Jean-Pierre Tillaert
Tom Vanbesien
Jef Vandebroek
Geert Vandepoele
Guy Van de Poel
Cees van de Ven
Donata van de Ven
Harry van Kesteren
Geert Vanoverschelde
Roger Vantilt
Patrick Van Vlerken
Marie-Anne Ver Eecke
Karine Vergauwen
Frank Verlinden

Jan Vernieuwe
Anders Vranken
Didier Wagner

and to our writers:

Mischa Andriessen
Robin Arends
Marleen Arnouts
Werner Barth
José Bedeur
Henning Bolte
Erik Carrette
Danny De Bock
Denis Desassis
Pierre Dulieu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Federico Garcia
Paul Godderis
Stephen Godsall
Jean-Pierre Goffin
Claudy Jalet
Bernard Lefèvre
Mathilde Löffler
Claude Loxhay
Ieva Pakalniškytė
Anne Panther
Etienne Payen
Jacques Prouvost
Yves « JB » Tassin
Herman te Loo
Eric Therer
Georges Tonla Briquet
Henri Vandenberghe
Iwein Van Malderen
Jan Van Stichel
Olivier Verhelst