Raw Fish – Crudo

Raw Fish – Crudo


Loumi Records

This album sounds as if it was fun to make and it's certainly a lot of fun for the listener.

Raw Fish are Danish guitarist Teis Semey and Italian drummer Giovanni Iacovella, both of whom add improvised electronics. They're joined by guests on saxes, bass clarinet and vocals for this debut album. "Crudo" manages to cram a wide-screen musical universe into just 19 minutes, making more impact than many albums do in 60 minutes plus - it makes a compelling case for short albums.

Each of the eight tracks has its own sonic feel, ranging from improvised thrash metal to Brazilian songcraft with a discordant slant. 'Stroganina' kicks things off with a strong guitar hook over stream-roller drums and glitchy electronics, leading into a thrilling guitar solo which somehow manages to combine the feel of early U2 with Alan Holdsworth virtuosity, without sounding remotely awkward. 'Interlude' moves us briefly into ambient territory with misty harmonies drifting through distant cloisters before 'Funeral (revised again)' offers slow twanging guitar alongside rattling low-fi drums building to an emotional electronic climax. 'Sea Sausage' is a variation on the same musical material, combining a clever orchestration of synths and treated samples with a superb sax solo by guest David Binney.

Singer Marta Arpini arrives on 'Carpaccio Martini', her sample-treated wordless vocal leading a gentle Brazilian flavoured tune, Frederico Calcagno adding bass clarinet with a surprisingly Stan Getz flavour. 'Cevicheria' is a short 5/8 jam with Sonic Youth style guitar and drums then Marta rejoins for the haunting song 'It was nice to get to know you'. The tune and harmonies have a Jobim flavour, undercut by Zappa style fast drum breaks in an unrelated groove. Finally 'Do sardines come from Sardinia?' offers beautifully off-kilter rhythms, pentatonic synth themes with marimba and whistle impressions and a nice sax solo from Nicoló Ricci.

A really enjoyable album which mixes familiar ingredients in unexpected ways.

© Stephen Godsall

Teis Semey – guitar, MPC, drum machine
Giovanni Iacovella – drums, live electronics

Track list
1. Stroganina 03:20
2. Interlude 00:56
3. Funeral (revised, again) 03:02
4. Sea Sausage (feat. David Binney) 01:56
5. Carpaccio Martini (feat. Marta Arpini and Federico Calcagno) 01:52
6. Cevicería 01:04
7. It Was Nice To Get To Know You (feat. Marta Arpini) 04:39
8. Do Sardines Come From Sardinia? (feat. Nicoló Ricci) 02:01

Loumi Records

In case you LIKE us, please click here:

Foto © Leentje Arnouts
cycle d’interviews réalisées
par Georges Tonla Briquet

our partners:

Clemens Communications

Markt 2 -


Silvère Mansis
(10.9.1944 - 22.4.2018)
foto © Dirck Brysse

Rik Bevernage
(19.4.1954 - 6.3.2018)
foto © Stefe Jiroflée

Philippe Schoonbrood
foto © Dominique Houcmant

Claude Loxhay
(18/02/1947 – 02/11/2023)
foto © Marie Gilon

Special thanks to our photographers:

Petra Beckers
Ron Beenen
Annie Boedt
Klaas Boelen
Henning Bolte

Serge Braem
Cedric Craps
Christian Deblanc
Philippe De Cleen
Paul De Cloedt
Cindy De Kuyper

Koen Deleu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Anne Fishburn
Federico Garcia
Robert Hansenne
Serge Heimlich
Dominique Houcmant
Stefe Jiroflée
Herman Klaassen
Philippe Klein

Jos L. Knaepen
Tom Leentjes
Hugo Lefèvre

Jacky Lepage
Olivier Lestoquoit
Eric Malfait
Simas Martinonis
Nina Contini Melis
Anne Panther
Jean-Jacques Pussiau
Arnold Reyngoudt
Jean Schoubs
Willy Schuyten

Frank Tafuri
Jean-Pierre Tillaert
Tom Vanbesien
Jef Vandebroek
Geert Vandepoele
Guy Van de Poel
Cees van de Ven
Donata van de Ven
Harry van Kesteren
Geert Vanoverschelde
Roger Vantilt
Patrick Van Vlerken
Marie-Anne Ver Eecke
Karine Vergauwen
Frank Verlinden

Jan Vernieuwe
Anders Vranken
Didier Wagner

and to our writers:

Mischa Andriessen
Robin Arends
Marleen Arnouts
Werner Barth
José Bedeur
Henning Bolte
Erik Carrette
Danny De Bock
Denis Desassis
Pierre Dulieu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Federico Garcia
Paul Godderis
Stephen Godsall
Jean-Pierre Goffin
Claudy Jalet
Bernard Lefèvre
Mathilde Löffler
Claude Loxhay
Ieva Pakalniškytė
Anne Panther
Etienne Payen
Jacques Prouvost
Yves « JB » Tassin
Herman te Loo
Eric Therer
Georges Tonla Briquet
Henri Vandenberghe
Iwein Van Malderen
Jan Van Stichel
Olivier Verhelst