Nina Simone, wild as the wind – a tribute to Nina Simone

The Music Village Brussels September 19th, 2020
Photos © Michel van Rhijn

A promising young classical pianist hoping to become America’s first black classical pianist, Nina Simone was turned down at the prestigious Curtis Institute in Philadelphia. It is 1950 and racial segregation is raging. The young woman's humiliation and disappointment fueled all of her activist thinking and her artistic journey. Associated with the movement in favor of the civil rights of the black American population and those of women, friend of Martin Luther King, Nina Simone is above all a free spirit. She fights, at the risk of her life, armed with her only music and her authenticity to make the voices of minorities heard.

Crossing anthology songs between blues, jazz, gospel, and inspired monologues, this project is a powerful tribute to this complete artist with multiple identities, unclassifiable, nourished by lost hopes, inextinguishable force, distractions and rage. The music of Nina Simone, whom she herself considered to be a “soundtrack from a troubled era”, is placed there in the socio-political context which underlies it, in order to better understand the realities of the time, realities of today ...

Text © The Music Village


Tamara Geerts (vocals)
Anne Wolf
Sal La Rocca
Thierry Gutmann (drums)

© Michel van Rhijn

In case you LIKE us, please click here:

Foto © Leentje Arnouts
cycle d’interviews réalisées
par Georges Tonla Briquet

our partners:

Clemens Communications


Silvère Mansis
(10.9.1944 - 22.4.2018)
foto © Dirck Brysse

Rik Bevernage
(19.4.1954 - 6.3.2018)
foto © Stefe Jiroflée

Philippe Schoonbrood
foto © Dominique Houcmant

Claude Loxhay
(18/02/1947 – 02/11/2023)
foto © Marie Gilon

Special thanks to our photographers:

Petra Beckers
Ron Beenen
Annie Boedt
Klaas Boelen
Henning Bolte

Serge Braem
Cedric Craps
Christian Deblanc
Philippe De Cleen
Paul De Cloedt
Cindy De Kuyper

Koen Deleu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Anne Fishburn
Federico Garcia
Robert Hansenne
Serge Heimlich
Dominique Houcmant
Stefe Jiroflée
Herman Klaassen
Philippe Klein

Jos L. Knaepen
Tom Leentjes
Hugo Lefèvre

Jacky Lepage
Olivier Lestoquoit
Eric Malfait
Simas Martinonis
Nina Contini Melis
Anne Panther
Jean-Jacques Pussiau
Arnold Reyngoudt
Jean Schoubs
Willy Schuyten

Frank Tafuri
Jean-Pierre Tillaert
Tom Vanbesien
Jef Vandebroek
Geert Vandepoele
Guy Van de Poel
Cees van de Ven
Donata van de Ven
Harry van Kesteren
Geert Vanoverschelde
Roger Vantilt
Patrick Van Vlerken
Marie-Anne Ver Eecke
Karine Vergauwen
Frank Verlinden

Jan Vernieuwe
Anders Vranken
Didier Wagner

and to our writers:

Mischa Andriessen
Robin Arends
Marleen Arnouts
Werner Barth
José Bedeur
Henning Bolte
Erik Carrette
Danny De Bock
Denis Desassis
Pierre Dulieu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Federico Garcia
Paul Godderis
Stephen Godsall
Jean-Pierre Goffin
Claudy Jalet
Bernard Lefèvre
Mathilde Löffler
Claude Loxhay
Ieva Pakalniškytė
Anne Panther
Etienne Payen
Jacques Prouvost
Yves « JB » Tassin
Herman te Loo
Eric Therer
Georges Tonla Briquet
Henri Vandenberghe
Iwein Van Malderen
Jan Van Stichel
Olivier Verhelst