Raphael Malfliet - Noumenon

Electric bassist and composer Raphael Malfliet has discovered a new sound for the "guitar trio."

Malfliet is a native of Belgium, and has focused the past years on contemporary composition technique and it's interactions with improvisation. His research into graphical scores by composers such as Morton Feldman, Karlheinz Stockhausen and György Ligeti as well as his many years of involvement with the European, and more recently New York improvising communities, has led directly to his debut album, Noumenon.

Finding partners of perfect simpatico, Malfliet uses the intensity and fearless intention of Todd Neufeld's guitar playing, as well as the rich and ego-less palette of Italian-born drummer/ percussionist Carlo Costa to perfect effect.

The trio met in 2014 and explored improvisational possibilities. But, in 2015, together in New York, through an extensive period of rehearsals and discussions, they developed a language for interpreting Malfliet's original compositions, culminating in an excellent analog tape recorded session in the winter months. 

Each track on the resulting album explores different structures and angles of an overall unified and highly original artistic statement.

Cover artwork is supplied by the famed Ethiopian-born, NY based visual artist Julie Mehretu. 

Noumenon is an immersing sound world, full of beauty, intensity and surprise.

Review in German: http://www.jazzhalo.be/reviews/cd-reviews/r/rapha%C3%ABl-malfliet-trio-noumenon/

Raphael Malfliet: electric bass      
Todd Neufeld: electric and acoustic guitar
Carlo Costa: drums and percussion     

In case you LIKE us, please click here:

Foto © Leentje Arnouts
cycle d’interviews réalisées
par Georges Tonla Briquet

our partners:

Clemens Communications


Silvère Mansis
(10.9.1944 - 22.4.2018)
foto © Dirck Brysse

Rik Bevernage
(19.4.1954 - 6.3.2018)
foto © Stefe Jiroflée

Philippe Schoonbrood
foto © Dominique Houcmant

Special thanks to our photographers:

Petra Beckers
Ron Beenen
Annie Boedt
Klaas Boelen
Henning Bolte

Serge Braem
Cedric Craps
Christian Deblanc
Philippe De Cleen
Paul De Cloedt
Cindy De Kuyper

Koen Deleu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Anne Fishburn
Federico Garcia
Robert Hansenne
Serge Heimlich
Dominique Houcmant
Stefe Jiroflée
Herman Klaassen
Philippe Klein

Jos L. Knaepen
Tom Leentjes
Hugo Lefèvre

Jacky Lepage
Olivier Lestoquoit
Eric Malfait
Simas Martinonis
Nina Contini Melis
Jean-Jacques Pussiau
Arnold Reyngoudt
Jean Schoubs
Willy Schuyten

Frank Tafuri
Jean-Pierre Tillaert
Tom Vanbesien
Jef Vandebroek
Geert Vandepoele
Guy Van de Poel
Cees van de Ven
Donata van de Ven
Harry van Kesteren
Geert Vanoverschelde
Roger Vantilt
Patrick Van Vlerken
Marie-Anne Ver Eecke
Karine Vergauwen
Frank Verlinden

Jan Vernieuwe
Anders Vranken
Didier Wagner

and to our writers:

Mischa Andriessen
Robin Arends
Marleen Arnouts
Werner Barth
José Bedeur
Henning Bolte
Erik Carrette
Danny De Bock
Denis Desassis
Pierre Dulieu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Federico Garcia
Paul Godderis
Stephen Godsall
Jean-Pierre Goffin
Claudy Jalet
Bernard Lefèvre
Mathilde Löffler
Claude Loxhay
Ieva Pakalniškytė
Etienne Payen
Jacques Prouvost
Yves « JB » Tassin
Herman te Loo
Eric Therer
Georges Tonla Briquet
Henri Vandenberghe
Iwein Van Malderen
Jan Van Stichel
Olivier Verhelst