Cryptogramophone is moving to Bandcamp

Just like Jazz'halo, our friends from the Cryptogramophone label are moving to Bandcamp. We both celebrate our 25th anniversary.

Here's their new release!

Cryptogramophone is moving to Bandcamp, with a brand new release by The Smudges - violinist Jeff Gauthier and cellist Maggie Parkins.

The Smudges have been playing together since 2008. However, it took a global pandemic and suspension of all live concerts for them to hunker down and document their work.

The album "Song and Call" is a Smudges sandwich of compositions by good friends Guy Klucevsek and Tom Flaherty on the crusty outside, and compositions by Jeff Gauthier and duo improvs in the middle. All of this music can be performed live with the assistance of loops, samples and a vast array of computer hosted electronic effects, all activated by the violinist’s feet.

The piece "Song and Call" is inspired by the cover painting by good friend and neighbor Jeff Faust. The source material consists of bird songs and calls that have been slowed down up to 10 times normal speed, as well as bamboo wind chimes from the garden, and a Tibetan singing bowl. The birdsong samples are sliced and diced, and triggered by the electric violin. The piece is in four movements played attacca, and titled after the four birds whose songs are represented: Gray Fantail, Common Starling, American Robin and Eastern Winter Wren. Maggie can be heard whistling with the Wren in the last movement.

© Cryptogramophone

releases February 18, 2022

Now you can purchase CDs, digital albums and tracks directly, and watch videos by The Nels Cline Singers and The Smudges on Bandcamp. And while you're there, please follow them!


In case you LIKE us, please click here:

our partners:

Clemens Communications



Silvère Mansis
(10.9.1944 - 22.4.2018)
foto © Dirck Brysse

Rik Bevernage
(19.4.1954 - 6.3.2018)
foto © Stefe Jiroflée

Philippe Schoonbrood
foto © Dominique Houcmant

Special thanks to our photographers:

Petra Beckers
Ron Beenen
Annie Boedt
Klaas Boelen
Henning Bolte

Serge Braem
Cedric Craps
Christian Deblanc
Philippe De Cleen
Paul De Cloedt
Cindy De Kuyper

Koen Deleu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Anne Fishburn
Federico Garcia
Robert Hansenne
Serge Heimlich
Dominique Houcmant
Stefe Jiroflée
Herman Klaassen
Philippe Klein

Jos L. Knaepen
Tom Leentjes
Hugo Lefèvre

Jacky Lepage
Olivier Lestoquoit
Eric Malfait
Nina Contini Melis
Jean-Jacques Pussiau
Arnold Reyngoudt
Jean Schoubs
Willy Schuyten

Frank Tafuri
Jean-Pierre Tillaert
Tom Vanbesien
Jef Vandebroek
Geert Vandepoele
Guy Van de Poel
Cees van de Ven
Donata van de Ven
Harry van Kesteren
Geert Vanoverschelde
Roger Vantilt
Patrick Van Vlerken
Marie-Anne Ver Eecke
Karine Vergauwen
Frank Verlinden

Jan Vernieuwe
Anders Vranken
Didier Wagner

and to our writers:

Mischa Andriessen
Robin Arends
Marleen Arnouts
Werner Barth
José Bedeur
Henning Bolte
Erik Carrette
Danny De Bock
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Federico Garcia
Paul Godderis
Stephen Godsall
Jean-Pierre Goffin
Claudy Jalet
Bernard Lefèvre
Mathilde Löffler
Claude Loxhay
Etienne Payen
Yves « JB » Tassin
Herman te Loo
Georges Tonla Briquet
Henri Vandenberghe
Iwein Van Malderen
Jan Van Stichel
Olivier Verhelst