Artists’ centre Walter opens September 7th, 2018

Artists’ centre Walter, a work and performance place for experimental and avant-garde art and music in Anderlecht, Brussels.

Artists’ centre Walter is an initiative by musician Teun Verbruggen. Walter invites Brussels and international visual artists and musicians in a promising building offering high-quality and affordable workshop and rehearsal spaces, as well as possible residency and a concert hall. What unites and drives these artists can be summed up in two words: experiment and improvisation. Walter nestles in the very heart of Cureghem (Anderlecht), a densely-populated neighbourhood, a stone’s throw away from Brussels’ city centre and in the middle of the rapidly developing canal district.


Sep 7 : Walter opens! #1

Exposition of Walter Swennen (the whole weekend) / Wilfried Pulinckx and Laura Ten Zeldam / installation by Expanded Eye / Live painting Vincent Glowinski and open atelier visit Wannes Lecompte, Willem Vermeersch, Laura Ten Zeldam, Franziska Windisch.

8.30PM : Benjamin Sauzereau Solo (FR)
9.30PM : The Bureau Of Atomic Tourism (NO/BE/FR/USA) new line up : Teun Verbruggen, Ingebrigt Haker Flaten, Julien Desprez, Jozef Dumoulin, Magnus Broo, John Irabagon
11PM : DJ set Tom Goris

Sep 8 : Walter opens! #2

(only 100 tickets available, no presale except on our crowdfunding!)

8.30PM : Acapulco / Julien Desprez Solo (FR)
9.30PM : Supersilent NO) with Arve Henriksen, Ståle Storløkken, Helge Sten
11PM : DJ set Mauro Pawlowski

Sep 9 : Walter opens! #3

8PM : Pablo Held trio (GERMANY)

Sep 14 : Silent Water Label Night

8.30PM : Manuel Mota Solo (PT)
9.30PM : Going with Giovanni Di Domenico (IT), Pak Yan Lau (BE), Mathieu Callejah (FR), João Lobo (PT)

Sep 15 : Todd Clouser Free Impro Session

8.30PM : Todd Clouser (USA), Teun Verbruggen (BE), Sebastien Boisseau ( FR), Bram Weijters (BE)
9.30PM: Jam Session

Sep 21 : S M O G invites

8.30PM : Ensemble 21 / Professor Bad Trip I, II, III
9.30PM : Brice Dreessen

Sep 22 : Young talent

8.30PM : Anna Webber solo (USA)
9.30PM : Raf Vertessen 4tet with Raf Vertessen (BE), Anna webber (USA), Adam o'farrill (USA), Nick dunston (USA)

Sep 28 : Nuits sonores Brussels - Night 1 / THE LOOP in coproduction with BOZAR

8PM : Hans Beckers solo
9PM : Plug and Pray with Benoit Delbecq (FR) and Jozef Dumoulin (BE)
10.30PM : CD release Walter Live 1: Chaos of the Haunted Spire featuring SickBoy Milkplus (electronics) and Jaak de Digitale (visuals)
11.30 PM : DJ set  'Title'

29/30 Sep : Jozef Dumoulin / Vexations de Satie

Jozef Dumoulin invites all performers, dancers, musicians, filmmakers, painters, ... (any age, level or style to join and improvise on a 24hours marathon version of Saties 'Vexations'
Piano : Jozef Dumoulin and Benoit Delbecq (FR)

sat 29th 8am till sunday 30th  8am: more info and scores on

In case you LIKE us, please click here:

Foto © Leentje Arnouts
cycle d’interviews réalisées
par Georges Tonla Briquet

our partners:

Clemens Communications


Silvère Mansis
(10.9.1944 - 22.4.2018)
foto © Dirck Brysse

Rik Bevernage
(19.4.1954 - 6.3.2018)
foto © Stefe Jiroflée

Philippe Schoonbrood
foto © Dominique Houcmant

Special thanks to our photographers:

Petra Beckers
Ron Beenen
Annie Boedt
Klaas Boelen
Henning Bolte

Serge Braem
Cedric Craps
Christian Deblanc
Philippe De Cleen
Paul De Cloedt
Cindy De Kuyper

Koen Deleu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Anne Fishburn
Federico Garcia
Robert Hansenne
Serge Heimlich
Dominique Houcmant
Stefe Jiroflée
Herman Klaassen
Philippe Klein

Jos L. Knaepen
Tom Leentjes
Hugo Lefèvre

Jacky Lepage
Olivier Lestoquoit
Eric Malfait
Simas Martinonis
Nina Contini Melis
Jean-Jacques Pussiau
Arnold Reyngoudt
Jean Schoubs
Willy Schuyten

Frank Tafuri
Jean-Pierre Tillaert
Tom Vanbesien
Jef Vandebroek
Geert Vandepoele
Guy Van de Poel
Cees van de Ven
Donata van de Ven
Harry van Kesteren
Geert Vanoverschelde
Roger Vantilt
Patrick Van Vlerken
Marie-Anne Ver Eecke
Karine Vergauwen
Frank Verlinden

Jan Vernieuwe
Anders Vranken
Didier Wagner

and to our writers:

Mischa Andriessen
Robin Arends
Marleen Arnouts
Werner Barth
José Bedeur
Henning Bolte
Erik Carrette
Danny De Bock
Denis Desassis
Pierre Dulieu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Federico Garcia
Paul Godderis
Stephen Godsall
Jean-Pierre Goffin
Claudy Jalet
Bernard Lefèvre
Mathilde Löffler
Claude Loxhay
Ieva Pakalniškytė
Etienne Payen
Jacques Prouvost
Yves « JB » Tassin
Herman te Loo
Eric Therer
Georges Tonla Briquet
Henri Vandenberghe
Iwein Van Malderen
Jan Van Stichel
Olivier Verhelst