ALEGRÌA e LIBERTÀ is the encounter between the fiery Cantabrian sea, kissing the cliffs of the ‘Praia das catedrais’, off the coast of Ribadeo and the languor of the Ionian Sea, coloring the Terra d’Otranto in vivid azure.

From muñeira to tarantella, this musical journey will take us on the paths of Santiago de Compostela, through Galicia, this region of northwestern Spain, neighbor of Portugal, of Celtic culture; and on the paths of Salento, in the extreme south-east of the Apulia region, described as ‘the heel of the Italian boot’.

ALEGRÌA e LIBERTÀ is dedicated to the meeting of the voices of memory; that of the ‘passionaria’ of the Italian folk song, Lucilla GALEAZZI, and those of the ethereal ‘Galician cantareiras’ of IALMA.

A repertoire oscillating between tradition and modernity, sublimated by the virtuosity of the diatonic accordionist, Didier LALOY, the energy of the metronomic tamburello player, Carlo RIZZO and the excellence of the guitarist, Maarten DECOMBEL.

ALEGRÌA e LIBERTÀ are songs of women to each other, to strengthen themselves at work, while harvesting potatoes or spinning jute fiber; to encourage themselves while waiting for their men, who went fishing at sea; to resist when their songs are repressed by the dictatorship ...; popular songs that bring back to culture, to the roots, to the identity that is passed on generation after generation by a people.

From moving vocal fusions to mystical lyricism, ALEGRÌA e LIBERTÀ is also the joy of singing and dancing ... in absolute freedom.

© Lieve Boussauw


VERONICA CODESAL voice, percussions
EVA FERNANDEZ voice, percussions
NATALIA CODESAL voice, percussions
MARISOL PALOMO voice, percussions
DIDIER LALOY diatonic accordion
CARLO RIZZO tamburello


07.02.2019    Muziekpublique: Molière Theater - Naamsepoortgalerij, Bolwerksquare 3, 1050 Brussel
08.02.2019    Muziekpublique: Molière Theater - Naamsepoortgalerij, Bolwerksquare 3, 1050 Brussel
09.02.2019    Cité Miroir, 4000 Liège

BUY THE ALBUM: click here

our partners:

Clemens Communications

Silvère Mansis
(10.9.1944 - 22.4.2018)
foto © Dirck Brysse

Rik Bevernage
(19.4.1954 - 6.3.2018)
foto © Stefe Jiroflée


Special thanks to our photographers:

Annie Boedt
Klaas Boelen
Henning Bolte

Serge Braem
Cedric Craps
Christian Deblanc
Cindy De Kuyper

Koen Deleu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Anne Fishburn
Robert Hansenne
Stefe Jiroflée
Herman Klaassen
Philippe Klein

Jos L. Knaepen
Tom Leentjes
Hugo Lefèvre

Jacky Lepage
Olivier Lestoquoit
Eric Malfait
Nina Contini Melis
Arnold Reyngoudt
Jean Schoubs
Willy Schuyten

Frank Tafuri
Jean-Pierre Tillaert
Tom Vanbesien
Jef Vandebroek
Geert Vandepoele
Guy Van de Poel
Cees van de Ven
Donata van de Ven
Harry van Kesteren
Geert Vanoverschelde
Roger Vantilt
Patrick Van Vlerken
Marie-Anne Ver Eecke
Karine Vergauwen
Frank Verlinden

Jan Vernieuwe
Anders Vranken

and to our writers:

Mischa Andriessen
Robin Arends
Marleen Arnouts
Henning Bolte
Danny De Bock
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Paul Godderis
Jean-Pierre Goffin
Bernard Lefèvre
Mathilde Löffler
Claude Loxhay
Etienne Payen
Herman te Loo
Georges Tonla Briquet
Iwein Van Malderen
Olivier Verhelst