Lew Tabackin Trio

When: 30-6-2019

Where: L'Archiduc



Lew Tabackin, a monster saxophonist and flutist who transcends styles and cultures, is also respected as a master composer and arranger for the Toshiko Akiyoshi Jazz Orchestra.

Tabackin is an artist of astonishing vision: His electrifying flute playing is at once virtuosic, primordial, crosscultural and passionate; his distinctive tenor sax style shows the full range of possibilities of the instrument. He studied both in high school, and then majored in flute at the Philadelphia Conservatory of Music, studying privately with composer Vincent Persichetti.

Tabackin later moved to New York, where he played first with Tal Farlow and Don Friedman, and later in the big bands led by Cab Calloway, Les and Larry Elgart, Maynard Ferguson, Joe Henderson, Chuck Israels, Thad Jones and Mel Lewis, Clark Terry and Duke Pearson.

During the late 1960s, Tabackin led a trio in Philadelphia in addition to playing in small groups with Donald Byrd, Roland Hanna, Elvin Jones and Attila Zoller. In those early years, he worked with Doc Severinsen and the studio band for Dick Cavett’s television show. He also spent some time in Europe, where he was a soloist with various orchestras, including the Danish Radio Orchestra and the Hamburg Jazz Workshop. In 1968, he met Toshiko Akiyoshi and the couple eventually married and moved to Los Angeles, where they formed the award-winning big band, the Toshiko Akiyoshi Jazz Orchestra.

While in Los Angeles, Tabackin also played with Shelly Manne and with various trios of his own with Billy Higgins, John Heard and Charlie Haden. He also toured Japan frequently with the orchestra as well as with his own trio, which included drummer Joey Baron and bassist Michael Moore.

Lew Tabackin, sax & flute
Philippe Aerts, doublebass
Mourad Benhammou, drums
Yuka Sasaki, flute



Antoine Dansaert, 6




our partners:

Clemens Communications

Silvère Mansis
(10.9.1944 - 22.4.2018)
foto © Dirck Brysse

Rik Bevernage
(19.4.1954 - 6.3.2018)
foto © Stefe Jiroflée


Special thanks to our photographers:

Annie Boedt
Klaas Boelen
Henning Bolte

Serge Braem
Cedric Craps
Christian Deblanc
Cindy De Kuyper

Koen Deleu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Anne Fishburn
Federico Garcia
Robert Hansenne
Stefe Jiroflée
Herman Klaassen
Philippe Klein

Jos L. Knaepen
Tom Leentjes
Hugo Lefèvre

Jacky Lepage
Olivier Lestoquoit
Eric Malfait
Nina Contini Melis
Arnold Reyngoudt
Jean Schoubs
Willy Schuyten

Frank Tafuri
Jean-Pierre Tillaert
Tom Vanbesien
Jef Vandebroek
Geert Vandepoele
Guy Van de Poel
Cees van de Ven
Donata van de Ven
Harry van Kesteren
Geert Vanoverschelde
Roger Vantilt
Patrick Van Vlerken
Marie-Anne Ver Eecke
Karine Vergauwen
Frank Verlinden

Jan Vernieuwe
Anders Vranken

and to our writers:

Mischa Andriessen
Robin Arends
Marleen Arnouts
Henning Bolte
Danny De Bock
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Federico Garcia
Paul Godderis
Jean-Pierre Goffin
Bernard Lefèvre
Mathilde Löffler
Claude Loxhay
Etienne Payen
Herman te Loo
Georges Tonla Briquet
Iwein Van Malderen
Olivier Verhelst