WHO Trio - Strell

WHO Trio - Strell


Cleanfeed Records

WHO trio have a refreshing take on the piano trio format and on "Strell" they apply this with enthusiasm and ingenuity to the music of Billy Strayhorn and Duke Ellington. It takes a delicate balance to combine a free jazz approach with interpreting the material and creating drama - and they succeed. The tracks unfold with plenty of suspense to repay the listener's attention.

Far from a conventional trio sound, WHO often sound as mysterious and multi-coloured as the Ellington band. Drummer Gerry Hemingway makes striking vocal contributions - usually wordless and with acoustic effects such as singing through an aluminium lampshade into his snare drum, recalling the muted brass effects of 1920s Ellington.

The instruments are recorded close up and vividly - because they're all panned across the stereo spectrum it can be hard to detect which instrument creates which sound, even with headphones. Pianist Michel Wintsch uses extended techniques like plucking or muting strings so all three musicians play both a melodic and a percussive role. The music is mostly contrapuntal, with little in the way of "jazz soloing" - this is made possible by a high degree of understanding between players who've worked together over 20 years.

At times I was reminded of both the Spontaneous Music Ensemble and Keith Jarrett. The material chosen ranges from well-trodden (Take the A Train, In a Mellow Tone) to less familiar tunes like "Angelica" and "A Flower is a Lovesome Thing". The combination of great compositions and creative playing, laced with both humour and intensity produce a rewarding album.

© Stephen Godsall


Michel Wintsch - piano
Gerry Hemingway - drums, vocal
Bänz Oester - bass

In case you LIKE us, please click here:

Check out Jazz'halo radio: click on this logo please

our partners:

Clemens Communications

Silvère Mansis
(10.9.1944 - 22.4.2018)
foto © Dirck Brysse

Rik Bevernage
(19.4.1954 - 6.3.2018)
foto © Stefe Jiroflée

Philippe Schoonbrood
foto © Dominique Houcmant


Special thanks to our photographers:

Petra Beckers
Ron Beenen
Annie Boedt
Klaas Boelen
Henning Bolte

Serge Braem
Cedric Craps
Christian Deblanc
Paul De Cloedt
Cindy De Kuyper

Koen Deleu
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Anne Fishburn
Federico Garcia
Robert Hansenne
Dominique Houcmant
Stefe Jiroflée
Herman Klaassen
Philippe Klein

Jos L. Knaepen
Tom Leentjes
Hugo Lefèvre

Jacky Lepage
Olivier Lestoquoit
Eric Malfait
Nina Contini Melis
Arnold Reyngoudt
Jean Schoubs
Willy Schuyten

Frank Tafuri
Jean-Pierre Tillaert
Tom Vanbesien
Jef Vandebroek
Geert Vandepoele
Guy Van de Poel
Cees van de Ven
Donata van de Ven
Harry van Kesteren
Geert Vanoverschelde
Roger Vantilt
Patrick Van Vlerken
Marie-Anne Ver Eecke
Karine Vergauwen
Frank Verlinden

Jan Vernieuwe
Anders Vranken

and to our writers:

Mischa Andriessen
Robin Arends
Marleen Arnouts
José Bedeur
Henning Bolte
Danny De Bock
Ferdinand Dupuis-Panther
Federico Garcia
Paul Godderis
Stephen Godsall
Jean-Pierre Goffin
Bernard Lefèvre
Mathilde Löffler
Claude Loxhay
Etienne Payen
Yves « JB » Tassin
Herman te Loo
Georges Tonla Briquet
Henri Vandenberghe
Iwein Van Malderen
Jan Van Stichel
Olivier Verhelst